REIT AsiaPac

Sign up for our newsletter

Facebook Japan Is Expanding To A Newer, Bigger Office Next Year

Facebook Japan Is Expanding To A Newer, Bigger Office Next Year


Facebook Inc. is moving its Japan operations to a bigger location next year, as the social media giant gears up for future growth in the region, the Nikkei Real Estate Market Report said.

Facebook Japan is reportedly looking to lease at least 2,400 tsubos or 7,930 square meters in at least three floors of Tokyo’s Toranomon Hills Business Tower, the publication said in its June 2019, Issue 119 report.  The company is set to relocate there in the second half of 2020. 

Less than 2 kilometers from Facebook Japan’s current office in Ark Hills Sengokuyama Mori Tower, the Toranomon Hills Business Tower is scheduled to open in December this year. The developer of the new high-rise is Toranomon Itchome District Urban Redevelopment Association, the members of which include Mori Building. 

Facebook’s new home is designed to be directly connected to Toranomon subway station and Toranomon Hills subway station — which will also open in 2020.

Toranomon Hills Business Tower, according to Nikkei Real Estate Market Report, will have 36 floors above ground and three below with approximately 173,000 square meters of gross floor. The building is expected to house offices, stores, business support facilities and a parking garage, with approximately 94,000 square meters of net leasable area.

Facebook launched its services in Japan in 2008 and established the Japanese arm the following year. According to Nikkei Real Estate Market Report, Facebook’s original head office address in Japan was registered at a law firm in Shiroyama Trust Tower in Toranomon,Minato-ku, but in 2013 the company established an office in their current location at the Ark Hills Sengokuyama Mori Tower in Roppongi, Minato-ku.

To date, there are 18 Facebook satellite offices in the Asia-Pacific. Aside from their office in Japan, the social media networking site has five offices in India, two in Australia and one in New Zealand, Thailand, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, South Korea, China, Singapore and Taiwan.